AI News

Gemini 3.8 Flash Leak: Is Google's Next Flash Model Real?

7 min read
AI Tools Desk
ShareLinkedInX
gemini 3.8 flashgemini 3.7 flashgoogle gemini leakgemini vs claude fable 5ai agent modelsflash model pricinggoogle deepmindgemini 4 release dateai geminigemini ai
Gemini 3.8 Flash Leak: Is Google's Next Flash Model Real?

Quick answer: Gemini 3.8 Flash is an unconfirmed Google model. As of 24 August 2026, there is no public API, SDK model ID, or DeepMind model card. The only confirmed Flash model is Gemini 3.7 Flash, which launched 13 August 2026 at $0.75 per million input tokens.

Key takeaways

  • Gemini 3.8 Flash is unconfirmed — no Google announcement, no API endpoint, no model card
  • The leak originates from X posts and a single mention in a Tencent research paper (10 August 2026)
  • Gemini 3.7 Flash is live today at $0.75/$3.75 per million input/output tokens
  • Google's Flash line is shipping roughly every 3–4 weeks — faster than any flagship update
  • For UK SMEs running automations, the Flash tier is where the real competitive pressure is landing

Gemini 3.8 Flash: key facts at a glance

Gemini 3.8 Flash is an unconfirmed Google model that leakers claim is already running internally, offering Claude Fable 5-level quality at Flash-tier speed and cost — potentially arriving before Gemini 4. Google has not announced it. The only confirmed Flash model right now is Gemini 3.7 Flash, which shipped on 13 August 2026 at $0.75 per million input tokens (Google DeepMind).

  • Unconfirmed: Google has issued no announcement, API endpoint, or SDK model ID for "Gemini 3.8 Flash" (nokiapoweruser.com).
  • Origin of the leak: X user @0x0SojalSec claims the model is "already deployed internally" with "months of partner testing" completed, and that early signals suggest "Fable 5-level performance at a much lower cost" (X/@0x0SojalSec).
  • The strongest evidence so far: a Tencent research paper published 10 August 2026 reportedly names "Gemini 3.8 Flash" alongside GPT-5.5 and Claude Opus 4.8 as one of three LLM judges, three days before Gemini 3.7 Flash's official launch (X/@thisisdimm).
  • What's confirmed instead: Gemini 3.7 Flash launched 13 August 2026, priced at $0.75/$3.75 per million input/output tokens, scoring 65.3% on DeepSWE v1.1 and 85.8% on Terminal-bench (Google DeepMind; MarkTechPost).
  • Gemini 4 context: Google confirmed on 21 July 2026 that it has started "its most ambitious pre-training run yet" for Gemini 4, with no release date set (TechCrunch).

What is the Gemini 3.8 Flash leak?

The claim, pushed hardest by X account @itsAmartech, is that Google's next Flash-tier model — Gemini 3.8 Flash — could ship before Gemini 4 itself, delivering flagship-adjacent quality at Flash pricing and latency. A separate X post from @0x0SojalSec makes the same claim in more detail: the model is supposedly "already deployed internally," has completed "months of partner testing and A/B experiments," and early signals point to "Fable 5-level performance at a much lower cost" than Anthropic's flagship model (X/@0x0SojalSec).

None of this comes from Google. There is no public gemini-3.8-flash model ID, no API documentation, and no DeepMind model card — all the current official Flash documentation stops at Gemini 3.7 Flash (Google DeepMind).

Is Gemini 3.8 Flash real? Evaluating the evidence

The single most concrete data point is a Tencent research paper, reportedly published on 10 August 2026, that names "Gemini 3.8 Flash" as one of three LLM judges used to score its benchmark — alongside GPT-5.5 and Claude Opus 4.8. That's three days before Gemini 3.7 Flash's actual public release, which would be an odd coincidence for a simple typo (X/@thisisdimm).

But the case is thin. Coverage of the leak itself flags that "Gemini 3.8 Flash is mentioned only once in the entire paper" and lays out the two realistic explanations plainly: either Tencent had early access to an unreleased Google model, or a researcher typed "3.8" instead of "3.7" (nokiapoweruser.com). One citation in one paper, amplified by enthusiast accounts on X, is not confirmation — it's a lead worth watching, not a launch to plan around.

Gemini 3.8 Flash vs Gemini 3.7 Flash: what's the difference?

Because Gemini 3.8 Flash isn't confirmed, there's no official spec sheet to compare. What we do know is what Gemini 3.7 Flash — the model actually shipping today — brings to the table, and it's already a significant step up:

| Detail | Gemini 3.7 Flash (confirmed) | Gemini 3.8 Flash (leak claim) | |---|---|---| | Status | Shipped 13 August 2026 | Unconfirmed; no API or model card | | Input pricing | $0.75 / million tokens (intro, until 31 Dec 2026) | Not disclosed | | Output pricing | $3.75 / million tokens (intro) | Not disclosed | | Context window | 1,048,576 tokens | Not disclosed | | DeepSWE v1.1 | 65.3% (vs 49.0% for Gemini 3.6 Flash) | Not disclosed | | Terminal-bench | 85.8% | Not disclosed | | Positioning | "Refinement of 3.6 Flash," built for agentic and coding workflows | Claimed "Fable 5-level" quality at Flash cost |

Sources: Google DeepMind model card; MarkTechPost.

Gemini 3.7 Flash landed just 23 days after Gemini 3.6 Flash, itself one of three Flash-line models Google shipped on 21 July 2026 alongside Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite and a partner-only Gemini 3.5 Flash Cyber build (TechCrunch). That cadence — a new Flash release roughly every three to four weeks — is the real story underneath the leak: whether or not "3.8" specifically is next, Google is iterating its cheap, fast tier far faster than its flagship line.

Why the Flash line matters more than Gemini 4 for AI agents

Google's flagship Gemini 3.5 Pro update has slipped for months, reportedly because it "struggled to meet internal performance goals," according to Bloomberg reporting cited by TechCrunch (TechCrunch). Meanwhile Gemini 4's pre-training only began in July 2026, with Google offering no release date and analysts pencilling in "late 2026" purely by extrapolating past cadence rather than any commitment from Google.

That gap is exactly why the Flash line — not the flagship — is where the competitive pressure is actually landing. Most client-facing automations, coding agents, and document-processing pipelines don't need frontier reasoning; they need a model that's fast and cheap enough to call thousands of times a day inside a workflow. Gemini 3.7 Flash is explicitly positioned for "long-running coding agents, document-heavy automation, UI generation, and PDF-to-structured-data workflows" (nokiapoweruser.com) — precisely the use cases that determine which model vendor actually wins agency and SME automation budgets, regardless of who holds the flagship-benchmark crown.

For UK SMEs and agencies building AI automations, this matters directly: the model you choose for your workflows isn't the one winning benchmark headlines — it's the one that's fast, cheap, and reliable enough to run at volume. Gemini 3.7 Flash is that model today.

How much would Gemini 3.8 Flash cost? Pricing signals

No official pricing exists for Gemini 3.8 Flash. But the leak's central claim — "Fable 5-level performance at a much lower cost" — is worth stress-testing against real numbers. Claude Fable 5 is priced at $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens on Anthropic's API (Anthropic Claude Platform pricing). Gemini 3.7 Flash's introductory rate is $0.75/$3.75 per million tokens — roughly 13 times cheaper on both input and output (Google DeepMind).

If a hypothetical Gemini 3.8 Flash held to Flash-tier pricing while closing even part of the quality gap with Fable 5, that combination — not top-line benchmark supremacy — is what would actually move automation vendors' default model choice. Note also that Gemini 3.7 Flash's own intro pricing is temporary: standard rates of $1.50/$7.50 per million tokens take effect from 1 January 2027, still a fraction of Fable 5's cost (Google DeepMind).

What this means for client automations and AI agents

For teams building on top of LLMs — agencies running client automations, SaaS products with embedded AI agents, internal tooling teams — the practical takeaway isn't "wait for Gemini 3.8 Flash." It's that the fast-and-cheap tier is where model providers are now racing hardest, because that's the tier that actually gets deployed at volume in production agents. Gemini 3.7 Flash is real, shipping, and priced aggressively today; a possible Gemini 3.8 Flash is a rumour worth tracking, not a roadmap dependency.

Sensible next steps while this resolves:

  • Benchmark your actual workflow against Gemini 3.7 Flash now, rather than waiting on an unconfirmed model.
  • Track official channels — the Google DeepMind Flash page — rather than X leak accounts, for the moment any 3.8 release is confirmed.
  • Keep cost-per-task, not just benchmark score, as the deciding metric when comparing Flash-tier models to flagship models like Claude Fable 5 for high-volume agent use.

FAQ

Is Gemini 3.8 Flash confirmed by Google?

No. As of 24 August 2026, Google has made no announcement, and there is no public API, SDK model ID, or DeepMind model card for Gemini 3.8 Flash (nokiapoweruser.com).

Where did the Gemini 3.8 Flash leak come from?

It traces to X posts from accounts including @0x0SojalSec and @itsAmartech, plus a 10 August 2026 Tencent research paper that reportedly names "Gemini 3.8 Flash" as one of three LLM judges in its evaluation (X/@thisisdimm).

How does Gemini 3.8 Flash compare to Gemini 3.7 Flash?

There's no verified comparison — Gemini 3.8 Flash has no public specs. Gemini 3.7 Flash, the confirmed current model, launched 13 August 2026 at $0.75/$3.75 per million input/output tokens with a 1-million-token context window (Google DeepMind).

Will Gemini 3.8 Flash arrive before Gemini 4?

Possibly, if it exists at all — but Gemini 4 also has no release date. Google confirmed pre-training began 21 July 2026 with no launch window given, so "before Gemini 4" is a low bar rather than a strong signal (TechCrunch).

How much would Gemini 3.8 Flash cost?

Unknown — no pricing has been disclosed. For reference, Gemini 3.7 Flash costs $0.75/$3.75 per million tokens (input/output) versus Claude Fable 5's $10/$50 per million tokens, roughly a 13x gap (Anthropic; Google DeepMind).

Why does the Flash line matter more than flagship models for AI agents?

High-volume automations call a model thousands of times per workflow, so cost-per-call and latency dominate over top-end reasoning quality. Gemini 3.7 Flash is explicitly built for "long-running coding agents" and "document-heavy automation" — the workloads that actually run in production (nokiapoweruser.com).

Should I build automations around Gemini 3.8 Flash now?

No — it's unconfirmed. Build and benchmark against Gemini 3.7 Flash, which is live today, and switch later if a Gemini 3.8 Flash is officially confirmed and its pricing and benchmarks are published.

The bottom line

Whether or not "Gemini 3.8 Flash" specifically turns out to be real, the pattern behind the leak is already true: Google is shipping new Flash models roughly every three to four weeks, undercutting flagship pricing by an order of magnitude, and explicitly targeting the coding-and-agent workloads that make up most real-world AI automation. That's the race to watch — not the flagship benchmark chart. Keep this page bookmarked; we'll update it the moment Google confirms or denies Gemini 3.8 Flash.


AI Advisers helps UK SMEs and agencies cut through AI hype and build practical automations. Book a free consultation to find out which AI tools are worth your attention right now.

Ready to Transform Your Business?

Book a free consultation to discover how AI can drive your business forward